Radio Preservation Task Force Announces Launch of New Digital Preservation Initiative

Radio Preservation Task Force Announces Launch of New Digital Preservation Initiative

The Radio Preservation Task Force (RPTF) of the Library of Congress National Recording Preservation Board is pleased to announce the launch of Sound Submissions, a digital humanities program in the Recorded Sound Section of the Library’s National Audio-Visual Conservation Center (NAVCC).

The RPTF is a consortium of scholars, archivists, and educators created through the Library’s National Recording Preservation Plan to facilitate identification and preservation of extant radio materials in private and public collections throughout the country. Sound Submissions establishes an RPTF curatorial team led by Josh Shepperd (University of Colorado Boulder) to facilitate donations of digitized recordings and associated metadata for ingestion into the Library’s permanent digital archive.

Through the Sound Submissions program, collection holders preserve their digital files while retaining the original, physical media. Digital recordings are maintained by the Library’s National Audio-Visual Conservation Center in Culpeper, Virginia, and Library users can listen to recordings onsite at the NAVCC’s Recorded Sound Research Center in Washington, DC. 

Sound Submissions addresses the crucial need for long-term digital preservation solutions for sound materials while expanding and diversifying the range of cultural and political representation in national collections. Through this initiative, the RPTF and Library of Congress aim to promote preservation and public knowledge and appreciation of national audio heritage, ensuring recordings are successfully preserved and accessible to current and future generations.

Sound submissions project members include:

Matt Barton (LOC)

Brandon Burke (Iron Mountain)

Sarah Cunningham (NARA)

Maristella Feustle (UNT)

Kate Jewell (Fitchburg State)

Martin Johnson (UNC)

Michael Kramer (SUNY-Brockport)

Stacy Kowalczyk (Dominican)

Elana Levine (UWM)

Miles Levy (Smithsonian Channel)

Muira McCammon (Penn)

Patrick Midtlyng (LOC)

Jay Needham (SIU)

Ingrid Ockert (LBNL)

Erica Robles Anderson (NYU)

Stephanie Sapienza (UMD)

Josh Shepperd (Colorado)

Shawn VanCour (UCLA)

John Vallier (UW-Seattle)

Ian Whittington (Mississippi)

Leave a Reply