Research Division

The Research Division seeks to build and maintain resources for scholars, students, journalists, documentarians, and others pursuing work in the history and culture of radio and recorded sound. The group’s objective is to encourage and facilitate the creation of new knowledge and new perspectives on these media and their development over time. The division also maintains an Advisory Committee on Transnational Radio Research that offers guidance on appropriate priorities and strategies for advancing work in this area.

About Executive Divisions: Each division is responsible for (1) coordinating RPTF operations relevant to their area and advising the National Director on key priorities and needed resources, (2) developing and compiling public resources for release through the RPTF website, and (3) developing new initiatives to complement or support work performed by other RPTF units.

Questions? Contact the Research Division!

Executive Committee

Noah ArceneauxSan Diego State University
Heather BirksBroadcast Education Association
Catherine MartinDenison University
Rick PoppUniversity of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Alexander RussoCatholic University
Amanda Keeler Marquette University

Advisory Committee on International Radio Research

Alejandra BronfmanSUNY Albany
Inés CasillasUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christine EhrickUniversity of Louisville
Sonia RoblesUniversity of Delaware
Michael SocolowUniversity of Maine
Derek VaillantUniversity of Michigan
Ian WhittingtonUniversity of Mississippi